Emerging Leader in Residence Details

The GOALS of this program are to:

  • Help integrate young professional women into the structure and functions of ACPA
  • Promote involvement in ACPA and CWI
  • Facilitate the development of professional writing and presentation skills
  • Assist young professionals with career exploration and planning

The RESPONSIBILITIES of the Emerging Leader in Residence include:

  • Writing a reflective piece for CWI’s blog, about her experience as the Emerging Leader in Residence
  • Participate in mentoring sessions (via phone and email) post mid-year meeting
  • Participate in monthly conference calls with CWI Directorate members
  • Submit a program proposal for the ACPA Convention
  • Participate in pre/post assessment of the Emerging Leader in Residence

The program BENEFITS include:

  • Waived registration fee to the ACPA Convention
  • Attendance at ACPA leadership meetings
  • Attendance at CWI leadership and general meetings at the ACPA Convention
  • Attendance at CWI Directorate mid-year meeting in the fall
  • Mentoring sessions with CWI Directorate members (post-mid-year meeting)
  • Opportunity to manage a project related to one of the existing CWI Directorate committees; technology, connections, intersectionality, research and education, convention or membership
  • developing a workshop proposal based on her experiences for the ACPA Convention

Eligibility requirements:

  • Must attend the ACPA Convention and the Fall mid-year meeting
  • Current member of ACPA
  • Current master’s level graduate student and/or less than two years of full-time experience in the field.
  • Capable of fulfilling one-year term as ELR

For more information, please feel free to contact us at cwi@acpa.nche.edu, or apply here.

Past Emerging Leader In Residence Participants (formerly EmpowHer/Empower Fellow):

Emerging Leader Recipients

2019-2020 Jacquelynn Akins, University at Albany, SUNY

2018-2019 Bridget Sullivan, Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (MCPHS) University

Empower Fellowship Recipients

2017-2018 Michelle MacLeod, New York University

2015-2016 Annie Le,

2014-2015 Renata Baptista, Dartmouth College

EmpowHer Fellowship Recipients

2013-2014 Kate Curley, Pennsylvania State University

2012-2013 Hannah Retzkin, Loyola University Chicago

2011-2012 Kayti Protos, Vanderbilt, Cassandra Aman (Nice), Canisius College

2010-2011 Mari Knuth, Bowling Green State University and Selyna Perez, Rochester Institute of Technology

2009-2010 Mireya Moreno, California State University at Northridge

2008-2009 Robyn Kaplan, University of Connecticut

2007-2008 Sarah Hoffert, University of Vermont

2006-2007 Tiffany Davis, Bowling Green State University

2005-2006 Brooke Smith, Shippensburg University

2004-2005 Colleen Yout, The George Washington University

2003-2004 Heather Kind-Keppel, University of Missouri

2002-2003 Rosemary Perez, University of San Francisco