Coalition & Network Awards

Overall Coalition & Network Awards

ACPA Coalitions and Networks (C+N) represent WHO our ACPA membership is by providing affinity spaces that advocate for and amplify the realities associated with various social identities and common linked communities and experiences. The work of the Coalitions and Networks provides accountability that equity, inclusion, and access remain at the forefront of our Association’s work and offers community and safe spaces for folx of these identities to find replenishment, connection, support, and growth. 

Overall Coalition and Network Awards recognize exemplary leadership, service, and initiatives for their impact on and within the C+N space, ACPA, and our field as a whole. Recipients are announced during the ACPA Awards Ceremony during the ACPA Convention. Overall Coalition Awards are coordinated by Monique C. Atherley ([email protected]) Assembly Coordinator for Coalitions & Networks, who can be contacted for any questions or clarity needed.

Deadline to nominate is 15 November 2023.


Since 2014, The Advocate Award has celebrated and has recognized individuals who have made meaningful and long lasting impacts on our Coalition and Network (C+N) entity groups and their respective work. Nominees are named and pushed forward by the C+N directorate boards and C+N Chairs vote on the slate. 


As members of the field – we deeply understand and acknowledge the hefty, often invisible and over expected labor that comes with identity based work; especially if you also hold marginalized identities. In our C+N space – we have 12 Coalitions, Networks, and Task Forces representing various forms of identity, run by volunteer teams that through the numerous recent changes of life and humanity, have remained steadfast in their duties to create space and community for the constituents they serve. 

To recognize the service and contributions of our volunteer entity leaders, The Isang Bagsak Awards series has been established as overall awards that C+N entities can receive.

About The Isang Bagsak Awards: Isang Bagsak in Tagalog (a Filipino language) means “One Down” or in concept – “When one person in our community falls, we all fall. Conversely, when one person rises, we all rise.” This battle cry was shared by Filipino labor activist Larry Itliong and utilized to mobilize Filipino and Latino farmworkers in solidarity during the Civil Rights Era. The United Farm Workers movement and strike was located in California; and also included other Filipino and Latine/x/Chicanx activists like Philip Vera Cruz and Dolores Huerta. 

The concept emphasizes a way of life focusing on the interconnectedness of humanity. This name was selected to recognize the impact of community, coalition, and care from our C+N. In this, we also pay tribute to intersectional collaborations and contributions to justice movements.

There are four awards available for nomination: 

  1. Outstanding Directorate Board Member(s) – Honoring volunteer leaders who take out of their convention experiences to advocate, amplify, connect, and serve their communities and have particularly above and beyond in their service to their C+N entity and our higher education community in the last year.
  2. Excellence in Programming, Initiatives, and/or Service – Recognizing a C+N entity group who has curated innovative, relevant, needs-based efforts throughout the year
  3. Progression and Growth Award – Recognizing a C+N entity group who has worked steadily to stabilize and/or rebuild/reimagine their operations, work, and impact in spite of navigating challenging realities. This recipient would have shown significant improvement along this journey 
  4. Coalition and Network of the Year – Honoring the collaborative, creative, and coordinated efforts by a C+N Directorate Board team to create values based experiences and engagements for ACPA membership throughout the year.

The deadline to submit an application is Wednesday, 15 November 2023

Individual Coalition Awards

Each year, individual Coalitions and Networks recognize exemplary leaders, scholars, programs, institutions, and initiatives who contribute to the goals and mission of their respective coalition. The management of each awards process is coordinated independently by the respective entity group, so please refer to the awards directorate member (or similar role) in each coalition/network for details on nominations for each award. 

Please note that awards and award titles and criteria may change from year to year. Again, please refer to each coalition’s awards coordinator for specific information.

Award recipients in these categories are usually announced in individual directorate open business meetings and/or designated receptions.

For questions, please contact [email protected].

Coalition for Disability

  • Alice A. Mitchell Ally Award
  • Disability Leadership Award
  • Disability Service Provider Award
  • Intersectionality Award

Coalition for Sexuality and Gender Identities

  • Dr. D-L Stewart Research Recognition Award
  • Dr. Sheltreese D. McCoy Advocacy Award
  • Julie B. Elkins Outstanding Service Award
  • Public Service Award
  • Val DuMontier New Professional Award

Coalition on Men & Masculinities

  • Harry Canon Outstanding Professional Award
  • Outstanding Graduate/New Professional Award
  • Outstanding Men’s Program Award
  • Outstanding Research Award
  • Tracy L. Davis Outstanding Emerging Research Award

Coalition for Multicultural Affairs

  • Outstanding Contribution to Multicultural Affairs
  • Outstanding Contribution to Multicultural Education and Research
  • Outstanding Contribution to the Coalition for Multicultural Affairs
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Award
  • Outstanding New Professional Award

Asian Pacific American Network

  • Dr. Daniello Balón Mentoring Award
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Award
  • Outstanding Program/Initiative for APIDA Student Success Award

Latin@/x Network

  • Community Engagement Service Awards
  • Dr. John Hernandez Leadership Award
  • Erik M. Colon Outstanding Graduate Student Award
  • Outstanding Contribution to Equity & Social Justice Award
  • Outstanding Dedication to Multicultural Affairs
  • Outstanding Mid-Level Professional Award
  • Outstanding New Professional Award
  • Student Success Award

Multiracial Network

  • Professional of the Year
  • Student of the Year
  • Innovation Award
  • Founders Award
  • Spirit Award
  • Collaboration Award

Past award Recipients

Click the link below to view/download the Awards Ceremony Program Book from past ACPA Annual Conventions!

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.